## MEETING MINUTES

MARC Business Meeting at NARUC Winter Meeting Monday, February 4, 2013 – Washington, DC

# MID-AMERICA REGULATORY CONFERENCE

The following MARC Commissioners were in attendance at the meeting:

1	
Colette Honorable	AR
Ann McCabe	IL
David Ziegner	IN
Carolene Mays	IN
Jim Atterholt	IN
Kari Bennett	IN
Larry Landis	IN
Darrell Hanson	IA
Libby Jacobs	IA
Shari Feist Albrecht	KS
Tom Wright	KS
Orjiakor Isiogu	MI
John Quackenbush	MI
Beverly Jones	
Heydinger	MN

David Povd	MN
David Boyd	IVIIN
Phyllis Reha	MN
Robert Kenney	MO
Steve Stoll	MO
Terry Jarrett	MO
Brian Kalk	ND
Julie Fedorchak	ND
Anne Boyle	NE
Tim Schram	NE
Bob Anthony	OK
Chris Nelson	SD
Phil Montgomery	WI

MARC

Arkansas Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Michigan Minnesota Missouri Nebraska North Dakota Oklahoma South Dakota Texas Wisconsin

## Call to Order:

President Colette Honorable called the meeting to order 5:20 p.m.

## Welcome New Commissioners:

President Honorable welcomed new Commissioner Julie Fedorchak, a newly appointed Commissioner from North Dakota, and Commissioner Steve Stoll from Missouri who was confirmed recently.

## Minutes and Secretary's Report:

The minutes from the January 12, 2013 meeting were moved and seconded as corrected. Unanimously approved.

#### Treasurer's Report:

Commissioner Montgomery indicated there was nothing additional to report since the January Treasurer's Report.

President: Colette D. Honorable, AR

Vice President: Carolene Mays, IN

Treasurer: Phil Montgomery, WI

Secretary: Orjiakor N. Isiogu, MI

Executive Committee: David Boyd, MN

## President's Call for Next Business Meeting/MARC Annual Meeting:

President Honorable announced that the next business meeting would be held during the Annual Meeting in Little Rock, Arkansas, June 8-12, 2013.

Plans for the annual meeting are progressing at a good pace.

Field trips are confirmed – SPP and Wind Tour as well as Shell Wells trip. We have been approved for a RAFT which could be a half or full day, per Miles Keogh.

Golf Sunday, and fly fishing trip.

President Honorable is working to coordinate with SEARUC and other groups that have meetings at the same time.

Registration will be up and running soon, with the assistance of the Tourism Bureau. President Honorable thanked Darrell Hanson for his assistance on how he structured sponsorships and programs.

## New Business:

Arkansas requested seed money in the amount of \$10,000. It was moved and properly seconded to grant Arkansas's request, and the motion carried.

## Other Business/Announcements:

Chair Montgomery announced that Commissioner David Boyd is the recipient of the 2013 Terry Barnich Award. President Honorable mentioned that there have been two such awards and they have been both received by two MARC Commissioners, the first went to Kevin Gunn of Missouri.

Darrell Hanson said that it would be good if each state can put together a list of those they plan to solicit for attendance. This would be helpful to Arkansas as they go about inviting folks to attend the MARC 2013 Annual Meeting. President Honorable would send a note to members asking for input on this regard.

Confirmed speakers include NARUC President Phil Jones, Governor Mike Beebe, FERC Commissioner Tony Clark and AEP CEO Nick Akins. FCC Chairman Genakowski and FERC Commissioner John Norris have been invited.

Commissioner Mays reported that there were four more votes for San Antonio than for Austin. She is checking to see if the Riverwalk would be in operation during the MARC Retreat.

## Motion to Adjourn:

Meeting adjourned at 5:58 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Commissioner Isiogu, MI